Having No Regrets

Firstly I would just like to say that this blog is in beta stage and is still open to a lot of changes, so if you have any suggestions please comment them down below. I am going to make my posts a little bit shorter than the first two from now on. Could you please share my posts and recommend them to any friends that you think would enjoy them, as I am trying to get my message out to more people. Finally, this following post only applies to regret, so if you have a happy memory it might be good to think about it every once in a while.

In life there are a lot of things that can get you down. One of the worst things is regret. Regrets can stay with you for a long time, longer than other emotions such as anger or embarrassment. It is a feeling of sadness, repentance, or disappointment over an occurrence or something that one has done or failed to do.

Normally, when you do something wrong, people might be annoyed at you. However, their feeling of annoyance passes relatively quickly. Your own regret, though, can stay much longer than their annoyance. Usually, you get angry at yourself way more than anyone else does, and you move on much less quickly. Therefore by regretting doing something you can damage your confidence in the future, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned it is that confidence is really important for life.

To add to that, there is absolutely no use for regret. Yes, by understanding you’ve done something wrong in the moment, it does mean that you can learn from your mistakes. But dwelling on it has no purpose, as you’ll end up feeling sad constantly, and no matter how hard you try you can never change the past. Sometimes, I used to find myself feeling sad without even knowing why, and then I realise I am thinking of when I missed a shot in football, or when I didn’t do something I should’ve done. Now I believe that you should be rooted in the present moment, as the past causes regret and the future can cause anxiety. As the turtle master guy from Kung Fu Panda said: “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift, and that’s why it is called the present.”

Sometimes it’s hard getting over your mistakes, or missed opportunities, but it is worth it when you do. I’ve found that by having no regrets it can help you out in the future, as you feel happier and more confident. Also, just remember, never have any regrets, or want to change any part of your past, as your past is what has made you the wonderful, amazing person you are today, and your failures have made you stronger. Everything happens for a reason.

feedback-research-rs

 

One thought on “Having No Regrets

Leave a Reply

