My Epiphany

My Granny died on 7th November 2016, aged only 70. I was very close to her, so it really made me think about life, and how fragile it is, as she should have lived at least another ten years. If I died today, for whatever reason, what would I have achieved in my life? Was I just a waste of space? After all, I spend a lot of my time playing video games (they’re addictive, relaxing and compelling), and don’t always put 100% into my school work. I eat quite a lot of chocolate, laze about most of the day and complain when I am asked to do chores (AKA a typical teenager)!

A lot of adults (not all) have this preconception that children (especially teens) are lazy, badly behaved, impolite, can’t handle responsibility, don’t work hard when they don’t have to and are generally moody. This is true a lot of the time, but I think that one of the reasons that children don’t behave brilliantly 24/7 is that adults don’t expect them too. This is not to say that adults are completely wrong, they probably make this negative conclusion because of their own childhood or seeing a few teenagers like that in public. But to stereotype 27% of the world’s population on the actions of a few is stupid, even if nearly all of them are just how you imagined.

What I’m trying to say is that children aren’t always expected to push themselves, or go out and do productive things (what with computer games and social media preoccupying most of their time). Modern stereotypes suggest that the aim of childhood is to survive, what with “puberty” and “school” having such negative connotations. Also, in modern society, it is hard for kids to be clever and be popular at the same time. If you try too hard in an exam or a teacher makes a big show of your grade in front of the class, you could be called names such as “nerd” or “try-hard”, or you could be bullied. Because of this peer pressure only a select percentage of children do try their best, and make the most of their childhood (as you only live once). You may think I’m over-exaggerating, but my point is clear, a lot of children don’t take advantage of opportunities because either they or their parents don’t push them enough.

So I’ve had an epiphany… I’m going to write a blog. What I aim to do is show the world that people can take every single opportunity given to them, no matter what their age is, and not waste just their life gaming and watching TV. This is because your childhood is one of the most important stages of your life; it sets you up for adulthood, determines your profession, and shapes you as a person. I want to cut back on gaming, take more opportunities, work harder, and I want to help other people around the world do it too. Because, as a child, everyone has dreams. I’m not talking about magical, fairy-tale dreams, I mean desires to become a better or more talented person, or to do something with your life. Personally, I want to learn to play the keyboard, code, and get 11 A*s/9s in my GCSEs. I’m lucky enough to already have a keyboard, raspberry pi, and a brilliant school. But I’m not going to let my “dreams be dreams”, as Shia LeBeouf would say. All I need is time, effort, and a passion. I know I’m going to do it, for my Granny.

I will post regularly about how to achieve goals, improve mental and physical fitness, work hard, motivate yourself, and make your life easier, while also opening up discussion points about controversial topics. I will give you a tip every post, about how to live your life better. Hopefully, you will learn something every time I publish a post. It’s a bit like motivational Life Hacks, just taking five minutes out of your week to live a healthier, better life. (Not every post will be this lengthy).

The idea of writing a blog was inspired by the book I’m reading – Anne Frank’s Diary. During the two years she was in hiding, I got the impression that her Diary was what kept her sane. So I think this blog/project will help me cut back on gaming and live a healthier life, and it will stop me from quitting or going back to my old ways, as then I would become the world’s biggest hypocrite! So I will tell you right now that I’m not going to do this half-heartedly like I do with most things (if I’m to be brutally honest), because I feel stronger about this than I have done about anything before. I will always find time to post, as now I won’t waste six hours at the weekend gaming. I know that there will be people who disagree with what I say (it will naturally happen as this post is so opinionated and personal).But if you disagree… DON’T READ IT!!!

Finally, I believe that success isn’t all about the end result, it is about the journey too. So, by writing on this blog every week, I think that I am taking small steps to success. And I don’t mean financial success, I mean my own success, measured in euphoria.

{Euphoria – a feeling or state of intense excitement and happiness.}

Leave a Reply

